Baltimore Museum of Industry1415 Key Hwy, Baltimore, MD 21230 www.thebmi.org
- Free Parking
- Photography Permitted
The building that now houses the Baltimore Museum of Industry started out as Platt and Company Oyster Cannery in 1865. It opened as one of about 80 canneries along Baltimore’s harbor and closed as Baltimore’s last. Founded in 1977, the museum enables visitors to discover the businesses and inventions that forged the Industrial Revolution and propelled Maryland into the 21st century. Explore recreated workspaces and the tools and machines used in many regional industries. Step into a 1910 pharmacy, like the one where world-famous Noxzema skin cream was invented. Tour a c.1929 garment loft similar to those once key to Baltimore’s industrial development. Museum admission is free, but please check in at the front desk upon arrival.
At 10:30 am, architect Tom Liebel will teach visitors how to read a historic building using buildings on the museum’s campus.
Other Southeast sites you may be interested in:
Robert Long House
812 S Ann St
The Caulker’s Houses
612 S Wolfe St
Reginald F. Lewis Museum
830 E Pratt St