The George Peabody Library
17 E Mt Vernon Pl, Baltimore, MD 21201
The Library will be open for Doors Open Baltimore from 10am – 2pm.
The Peabody Library building, which opened in 1878, was designed by Baltimore architect Edmund G. Lind, in collaboration with the Peabody Institute’s first provost, Dr. Nathaniel H. Morison. Renowned for its breathtaking architectural interior and impressive collection of books, the Peabody Stack Room contains five tiers of ornamental cast-iron balconies rising towards a skylight that runs the length of the space. Ornate and delicate classical details adorn the interior, including fluted columns with ionic capitals, the Greek key motif on the perimeter of the balconies and elaborate moldings throughout the space.
- Parking: Parking may be found along street. There is also an onsite garage with paid parking.
- Accessibility: Partially Accessible