◀ See all sites

29. Housewerks Architectural Antiques

1415 Bayard St, Baltimore, MD 21230

Visit Website
Construction Date:1885
Architect:Henry Brauns


Visitor Experience

Refreshments available as staff discusses the building’s history. Open all day!


Bayard Station, opened in 1885, was originally part of the headquarters of The Chesapeake Gas Company of Baltimore City. In its heyday, the Chesapeake Gas Works covered more than 14 acres where gas was manufactured, stored in gasometers, and then pumped to the valve house to be pressurized for distribution throughout the city. The valve house, which Housewerks calls home, is believed to be one of only two remaining coal gas valve houses left in the United States. Ben Riddleberger and Tracey Clark started their architectural salvage company in 2005 after buying the old Bayard Station. Over the past 10 years, the Housewerks team has stabilized the long vacant building and has highlighted its many fine details, including, ornamental plaster and woodwork, fireplaces, and Palladian windows.

  • Parking: On-site Free Parking
  • Restrooms: Public Restrooms